Use GSC3510 as access point?

Can the GSC3510 be used as a WiFi access point? The product specifications is very unclear and almost feels like it’s deliberately made unclear… It says it support WiFi. But is this just for the unit to connect to WiFi or does this mean it can also provide WiFi?

It can connect to Wi-Fi (kinda useless since it is PoE-only but anyway.)

It cannot be a hotspot. That’s very clear that no devices other than APs and Android phones can do that.

Thank you so much for the quick answer and totally agree about the POE comment. May I ask where it is very clear that no devices other than APs and Android phones can do that? IT would actually be such a great feature if the intercoms could - it just makes sense to have an intercom + AP in a classroom.
I am completely new to Grandstream and still trying to figure out their way of giving information, support, etc. What I see about their PBX systems look amazing and I am sure I will get the hang of it eventually.

An intercom is an intercom, not a Wi-Fi Access Point.

A Wi-Fi AP is an AP, not an intercom.

Why not both??? Pricing, features, hardware resources, and simple logic? It was never meant for that.

And where is it clear? Hmm, let me see… across pretty much every SIP device manufacturers? So, if you’re new to Grandstream, are you new to VoIP period?

Yes…

Most desktop SIP phones has a line in and then a LAN out - so why is it so hard to comprehend the fact that an intercom can be an access point as well? My cellphone can be a SIP phone, video phone, Intercom AND AP… I am just pointing out the fact that it would have been a nice feature. Anyone working in a school environment would be able to see the benefit. It is one less LAN cable per classroom. I wasn’t slamming Grandstream for not providing the feature.

The specifications on the device just says “Integrated dual-band 802.11 a/b/g/n Wi-Fi” - there is no clear description what this WiFi is actually for, so I asked - that’s all