Use BLF keys to call REST functions

ip-communications

We have several GXP2160s, 30s and their related newer from the series, most have an owner and therefore share an extension number. The phones with the most BLF keys programmed doesn’t have more than 8, maybe 7; the thing is, there are a lot of unused BLF keys that could be put to better use.

In the network, there’s also a RESTful automation system and I know the phones already can send some sort of HTTP-ish request to the Grandstream…umm…door locks? The SIP deadbolts Grandstream makes. I remember too that these phones have the ability to run simple XML apps, so I know all the pieces are there to send a REST call which is nothing more than an HTTP request; I’m not a developer though. So instead I went looking to directly program an address to a BLF key but in a sea of selectable options executable by a key there seems to be none that cold request a web address.

I went into the UCM to try programming the keys remotely but I didn’t find a suitable option for the keys, I didn’t went out of my way using the UCM though because ZeroConfig is very hit and miss anyway and between reprovisions there’s a lot of wasted time–if the NOTIFY goes through that is–most of the time the phone just ignores it. On the phones’ web GUI though, there I did spent a kit of time testing and choosing other options for the BLF keys thinking maybe there were mislabeled, I updated the phones to the latest firmware and then again to the latest beta and I still don’t know how to send the REST call.