UCM6204 — newbie really obvious dumb thing

So I’m a complete newbie to IP based telephony, but I desperate to replace my old Nortel system.

Ive purchased 4 Grandstream GXP2140s and a UCM6204. I have 4 analog lines and I’ve also set up service with Voip.ms (eventually plan on ditching analog lines, but not yet…).

I’m trying to configure a test setup before I deploy to the real world. Ive hooked my main network in to the WAN port, and set up accounts. Everything seems to be registering accounts properly, but when I try to make a call I get the error ‘you are not authorized to make this call’. I feel like I’ve set dialing rules up properly, and as far as I can see have appropriate permissions set up,

I’m thinking the problem has something to with the LAN vs. WAN hookup. In my experience the ‘WAN’ port is used to provide a hookup between the internet and the device, whereas the LAN port provides local services to the network. My confusion (I think) is how this works within my setup. I’m not sure why this needs two ports in this case…can someone clarify?

Have you read the manuals here?

http://www.grandstream.com/support/resources/?title=UCM6200%20series

Set the UCM into SWITCH mode and then plug in network cable to LAN.

Been reading, yes. Obviously not cover to cover yet…

Thanks. Will try and let you know.

if you need to ask, we can not do a course in VoIP, but questions can always stay there

Don’t worry, not expecting a step by step, or a ‘do it for me approach’, but figure if its a quick easy 1000 people have had the problem before, and its a quick explain, might as well ask questions rather than struggle needlessly.

Just to provide an update… (still trouble shooting so not ready with a question yet :), but hate to leave you guys wondering if I got it working, or anyone following in my footsteps afterwards ) looks like the account on the UCM stopped registering on the GXP when I set the UCM to route mode…

Sorry meant to say switch mode, not route mode.