Outbound analog routes - "you must dial 1"

Hi all, I am new to GS and having an issue with a setup for my church. Have a UCM6204 I am setting up with 2 analog lines. I have created a single trunk with both fxo1 and fxo2 ports in it. Set to descend from fxo2 and then to fxo1 for outbound.

I have created a single “Outbound Dialing” route:

_8XXXXXXX
_8XXXXXXXXXX
_8XXXXXXXXXXX

This is intended for the staff to have to dial 8 to dial outside. I am then stripping 1 digit.

When I dial out to my cell phone @ 81XXXXXXXXXX, I will intermittently get a message from the PSTN stating that “you must first dial a 1 when calling this number”. However, I will immediately hang up and try the exact same dialed digits again, and the call will successfully go through. Then I can hang up and try the exact same dialed digits again, and it will say “you must first dial a 1 when calling this number”. It is very strange.

I thought maybe it was that one analog line was requiring the 1, and the other wasn’t. To test this I just switched my trunk selection to Ascend (use fxo1 first for outbound). However I experienced the exact same erratic behavior.

Can someone help guide me on this? Is my outbound route created incorrectly? What could be causing this erratic behavior?

Thank you so much,

Try with 1 x line plugged in at a time and see if the fault occurs again. If it does…then it points to that telephone line or the outbound route that you configured.

You can catch FXO line logs, 1 of will contain number you dialed, check what you push to PSTN.
Just search files from debug for number and see if you have 1xx or 81xx
If 81xx then you outband is wrong set.

First, try an analog phone directly on each individual PSTN line if you can get the required keying in.
Then why do you put an 8 in front of the selection?
test for test to put _x. (associating the PSTN)
you should be able to dial any number.