More analog modem advice. HT802

I have an embedded septic system telemetry controller with an analog modem adapter. The service company wants $700 to switch to an ethernet adapter, and I would need to run additional wiring. A POTS line in my area is $30 a month.

Then I’d like to give VOIP a shot. Reading the manual the device has a serial port which you can connect to at 9600 baud, and then I think the existing modem adapter might be running at this speed.

There seem to be posts here which imply that some people got data calls working with HT 702: Analog Modems on HT702

Furthermore there are some other suggestions:

Then I’m a VOIP novice but interesting in what configurations I should try to see if I can make it work.

Finally I will have to choose a SIP provider. Then I assume I’d be best off finding one nearby, but maybe there is some criteria I should be looking for when selecting a provider for test.

Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated.

There are no guarantees.

A modem use various protocols that form standards by which communications can be had between two similar devices over a standard POTS line. As the line conditions change, the modems can oftentimes re-adjust to accommodate.

An ATA attempts to emulate a POTS/PSTN line, but the analog stream from the modem is converted into data packets which are encoded using a voice codec. As your profile shows to be NA, you should use a G711u codec as this offers a wider frequency bandwidth. As the modem is using audio frequency tones (much like a fax) to communicate, the need is to use a codec that will support frequency bandwidth requirements such that tones are not compromised as they go from point A to B.

Now comes the tricky part.