HT801 Set-Up Problem with IP Address

I am a newbie to VOIP, so apologies if I am missing something obvious. I search for answers on the Forum (and Google).
I have a new EE mobile broadband connection and am using Sipgate as my VOIP provider. I have my old DECT phone connected to the HT801, which in turn connects to my new broadband router. On power-up, the HT801 detects Internet and Phone. And I am getting a dialing tone on the phone. All good so far…
When I come to configuration, I dial *** / 02 - and I get told that the IP address as 0.0.0.0, which isn’t a valid IP address to use on my Internet Browser (I use Firefox).
[I am not sure if it is relevant, but the http://192.168.1.254 IP address is allocated to the Router.]
So I am stuck. I have tried rebooting the HT801; that makes no difference.

What I am missing here?

Dial plan inside the HT801 - check there and add the numbers / codes needed

Sorry - what does that mean?
What do you mean by ‘dial plan’ and ‘inside the HT801’. Where do I ‘check’, and what ‘numbers / codes’ are you referring to? I am more confused now…

As I understand it - I need the IP address which I then put into my browser. That will bring up the interface configuration page where I can enter the config information provided by my VOIP provider.

One thing I didn’t mention - I do obviously have the MAC code (on the box and the underside of the interface).

If you dial *** then 01 what do you hear

sorry… i thought you were dialing digits corresponding to your sip service… but you are obviously talking about device to device ip to ip dialling…

I believe he is talking about the embedded configuration service within the HT. When you press ***, the HT responds with a voice that allows you to change or setup various options using an analog phone. I am thinking he proceeded with this and got to the section where it will advise about the network and it provided the IP address of 0.0.0.0