GXW4248 and SIP

So I have been using GXW4248 with Free PBX for several years and have and nothing but trouble with FAX, CC, Modem, etc… Everything else works great but reliability on especially on FAX has been a disaster. I haven’t been able to narrow down the issue to a specific component and I have tried a lot of things, over and over. I have 9 PBX’s and about a dozen GXW’s connected. At this point I would be happy to even get T.38 (14400) working for fax if it was reliable. So I was thinking, I’m not using the Free-PBX for anything other than mapping phone numbers to extensions (i.e. account # on GXW), isn’t there a way to do this via SIP without the PBX? I don’t need the ability for extensions to call extensions, never happens anyway.

Is there any document (or preferably video) that shows how I can setup my SIP from Telnyx directly to a GXW4248 without a PBX? I am ok with mapping phone numbers directly to an account (port) on the GXW and I have no issue with creating 1 SIP channel at Telnyx per GXW.

I’ll still use my PBX for regular phones and extensions but for Fax, alarm, and CC machines I think I need to streamline things?

Using FreePBX for Fax is a nightmare. I would not do it. I would use ATA for regular analog phones but not fax. I use t38fax.com for my faxing and it works great.