Factory reset phone from Zero Config possible?


#5

rtl - how would you get the command to the phone that is remote?


#6

I use an http/https tunnel over ssh with the remote router as host


#7

Interesting, may have to play with it, but I wonder if the amount of time spent to set up and configure is worth it for one device? It also occurs to me (as Damiano pointed out) that once done, then what?


#8

I’m curious and I’m doing a test as written above on “OEM”, unfortunately the manual, as often happens, does not indicate exactly what it is for etc…
If you are interested I will update you shortly.


#9

I ask myself a question, but if you are not talking about a remote phone, and if the same phone is detected by Zerco config … how is it possible that it does not enter via the web? It seems to me an impossible scenario what you have described.


#10

Also, reset all extensions removes the exiting configuration from all extensions such that their programmed features are removed. You would then have to re-program the phones, but it is not the same as a factory reset.


#11

so … in my humble tests, OEM is useless, at least it is useless to reset a certain model, also as it says @lpneblett if so it would be a complete reset of all phones of the same model on UCM. In short, it would be a massacre.

I would be curious to read your evidence and considerations regarding the OEM :slight_smile:


#12

a few seconds to type

ssh -R 8080:localhost:80 remoteaddress

Doesn’t strike me as too onerous


#13

OEM is to take a phone that was manufactured by Grandstream for a given client (such as a large hosting company that has them private labeled) which may have a different model number than the ones for the general population (us) so that you can take a GXP2177 and associate it to the 2170 template for use by the UCM. The 2177 is made up, but the point is that the function allows these type of “custom” phones to be used with the UCM as underneath the phones are essentially the same as the general ones.


#14

and this is an explanation that convinces me, even if I want to see only one installer in the world who will ever need this thing.
Anyway I’m 99% sure I read that OEM was used to do some sort of factory reset …


#15

I am setting up a Grandstream system for my church with about 25 extensions. I am setting all phones up through zero config, no programming will be done through the GUI. I have run into some situations where a handset needed a factory reset which completely fixed the problem and no further need to touch the phone or the GUI was necessary because of Zero Config. It would be best to have a VPN to administer but I don’t think that will be possible. Best I will get is port forward to UCM.

Steve


#16

What would the typical use for this option be?


#17

I guess there may be occasions when someone may sell a business or otherwise might decide to restructure the extensions - reassign new or different accounts, new or different extension associations, or anything else involving the configuration of an extension. As you can see you can delete a configuration for a given phone, so this is nothing more than doing the same, but for extensions with a single stroke. While perhaps rare, it avoids the need to factory reset everything or possibly having to do for many phones one at a time. I am guessing that it is not used much, but when and if you need it, there it is.


#18

Well, that might be what needs to happen instead of a factory reset in my situation. Looks like it’s all extensions or none though.


#19

What he means is that it will not reset the phones, only the extensions settings related to them so all phones become unassigned.


#20

10-4 on that. Why doesn’t Grandstream document exactly what that feature does?


#21

Not to be argumentative, they do explain the function.

They further explain how provisioning works (in the manual) and what its function is relative to configuring phones so that the phones can be managed from a central location and the features customized accordingly so that each extension will accommodate the needs of the users.

I think there are also some YouTube videos that go into some detail about it (Lucas who is a frequent contributor to the forum) has done a number of videos.

Only if you use the “reset all” button does it become an all inclusive operation, but you can reset any extension as needed. If you look to the right on each extension, you will see a group of icons for each -
image

They are, in order - edit,. delete, update (send sip notify (provision)), reboot and access device GUI.

You can delete the configuration for any device, without having to delete all. Keep in mind that the system can support hundreds of extensions, and it would be a pain to do all them one by one.


#22

No worries, I’m not offended. Problem is, I guess I am being dense.

So Reset is the same as Delete?


#23

In this context yes.

When you delete, it is deleting the configuration for the selected extension from the UCM.

When you reset all, it deletes the configuration for all extensions in the UCM,

(edit) - earlier versions of UCM firmware would also delete the extension when using the delete. Reset all was not an option. It has evolved where delete in ZC keeps the extension itself and only deletes the extension configuration within the UCM.

If there are any doubts about any aspect, do a backup of the entire system and label it accordingly so you can locate it and then do as you please to test as you can always go restore the backup.

It does nothing to the phones at this point. Whatever settings there were in the phone remain. Should the phone reboot or otherwise attempt to provision, nothing will happen to the phone as there is no configuration available for the phone to retrieve, It is at this point that it is best to do a factory reset of the phone. The reason being that the phone has settings that were not undone. If a new configuration is generated, then the new config must address all the prior settings because if not, then whatever legacy settings there were that were not addressed in the new config may remain on the phone. I say “may” as some settings are inherent in the zero-config categories (phone, maintenance, localization, etc.), but others such as P-Code use are custom and will remain. Some of the zero config categories have settings that can be used or not and if not used, will stay the same; hence why I think it best to remove all doubt and factory reset and then create a new config.


#24

Thanks Ipneblett. You have totally clarified this to me. My disconnect was the Delete vs. Reset terminology.