Create backdoor to extension on live answer system

Hello, I am a complete novice to VoIP/PBX systems but was forced into the fire when the 3 different “contractors” our hardware vendor sent to us turned out to have no idea how to set-up Grandstream’s products.

I’ve managed to get the system to a satisfactory level of set up. The voicemail set-up could use some tweaking; the group voicemail is very cumbersome the way we use it where each extension has to delete the same message, I’ve read the alternate ways and think I’ll pursue them when I have more time.

But for now my current question:

We are a small dental practice. I have a ring group set up to ring our 3 front desk people who handle all incoming calls. We are live answer.

Is there any way at all to create a back door so that one of the Dr’s wives can direct dial the extension on his desk? That phone is not part of the ring group.

We have 2 phone lines. I mention this because I think utilizing one line as a pseudo-back door might be the only possible way, however, if it requires something like any calls to that line ring his phone first and then get transferred to the group after a time out- that probably won’t work.

Thanks in advance,

Jay

Edit:

Is it as simple as creating a 2nd inbound call route?

Currently the only Rule is _. being directed to the ring group.

Could I create a rule for the # of the wife’s cell and home # and direct that to his extension?

If so, since that # also would fall into the primary rule, would it also ring the ring group? That wouldn’t be terrible since this is only so she can reach him after hours. It does however look like I could use the CallerID pattern to narrow which extensions each rule apply to, if I’m reading the manual correctly…

I think you’re on the right track but just to make sure I haven’t misunderstood, I’ll try to say it back with some additional details.