Can't Register Remote GXP2130 Extension to UCM6202

First, I am not a professional installer. I own a small eldercare company and am replacing a Talkswitch 244VS system with a UCM. I installed both systems myself. My experience is limited and I don’t know all the acronyms & jargon. Please bear with me.

1. Both the UCM & remote phone are behind Netgear R7000 routers with static IPs.
  2. The internal IPs of the UCM & GXP are “reserved” in the routers.
  3. Port forwarding on the local router points 5060 & 10000-20000 to the UCM internal IP.
  4. The same ports on the remote router point to the GXP internal IP.
  5. NAT SIP ALG is disabled on both routers.

The SIP setting on the UCM is set to the static IP of the UCM router. The UDP, TCP & TLS ports are set to 5060, 5060 & 5061 respectively. The local network address is set to the internal IP of the UCM. NAT is enabled on the extension.

Per the Grandstream HelpDesk rep’s suggestion, I:

1. connected the GXP to the “local” UCM router and auto discovered.
  2. then connected the GXP to the “remote” router.
  3. used the GUI to set the SIP server (under Account 1) to the UCM router’s static IP.
  4. confirmed the SIP & Authenticate IDs to be the same extension as in the UCM.
  5. then saved, applied, provisioned & rebooted.

The phone will not register. Sorry for the long, involved explanation, but, can anyone help?

How many phones do you have remotely? If more than one, DO NOT forward ports.

The 5060 and RTP ports should only be forwarded in the UCM side.

Also, on the UCM, under “PBX Settings -> SIP Settings -> NAT”, verify that your external host is the static IP and that “Use IP in SDP” is checked.

Wow, thanks for the quick response! I’ve done/checked all your recommendations. NOTE: I will be using more than one remote phone, but, just one right now.

What triggers the phone to attempt to register?