Author Topic: Skype App Not Working GVC3210  (Read 157 times)

Kevin Sherwood

  • Beta Club Members
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • Email
Skype App Not Working GVC3210
« on: January 05, 2018, 04:39:47 AM »
I have downloaded the Skype_Rover app from the GS Market and installed it.

The app crashes to the send feedback form after inputting the user name and password and submitting. This also happens with the Skype App from the Google Play store.

Is there a specific app that needs downloading to use this feature?

Many thanks.

Marcin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3348
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Skype App Not Working GVC3210
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2018, 12:30:57 AM »
You aware that you will have crap video ?
Android Skype is limited to VGA resolution as far i checked.
Life is waste of time.
Grandstream Certified Expert (DES,N, UCS), Reseller

GSSupport74

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1093
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Skype App Not Working GVC3210
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2018, 01:54:22 AM »
Dear Kevin,

Thanks for using Grandstream GVC3210!

We just tested this issue via Skype_Rover app from the GS Market on GVC3210. Users could login the Skype_Rover app and make the calls normally. If you factory reset the GVC3210, the expected result is you could install it directly from GS Market and use the app. We currently cannot reproduce this issue.

Thank you!

Kevin Sherwood

  • Beta Club Members
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Skype App Not Working GVC3210
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2018, 04:38:18 AM »
Thank you for the reply.

We will factory reset the unit and give it another go.


GSSupport74

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1093
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Skype App Not Working GVC3210
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2018, 08:14:56 PM »
Dear Kevin,

Thanks for using Grandstream GVC3210!

Let me know if you have any more question!


Thank you!

Kevin Sherwood

  • Beta Club Members
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Skype App Not Working GVC3210
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2018, 12:45:04 AM »
Factory resetting the unit and downloading the Skype software from the GS Market has resolved the issue.

Many thanks.

GSSupport74

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1093
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Skype App Not Working GVC3210
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2018, 08:26:16 PM »
Dear Kevin,

That is great!

Let me know if you have any more question.

Thank you!

Kevin Sherwood

  • Beta Club Members
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Skype App Not Working GVC3210
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2018, 07:27:54 AM »
Hi guys,

Another issue with the Skype_rover app.

There are some menu items that are not showing correctly in the app. The attached pictures show the issue. The missing menu items contain items such as "remove contact", "delete chat" etc.

The two images can be downloaded at:-

https://www.dropbox.com/s/k388iyrqqgqblye/2018-01-10%2014.58.11.jpg?dl=0 
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ryoprjngl84elq4/2018-01-10%2014.58.50.jpg?dl=0

Regards,

jppialasse

  • Beta Club Members
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Skype App Not Working GVC3210
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2018, 09:25:41 PM »
I have the same issue with either the skype rover app from GS store or the skype app from Google store.

I can make audio call to another person or receive, but no video.

For the menu not displaying I confirm, and this is present in a lot of application. I guess you have changed some css in order to display on your dark background and it make other apps difficult to use. see https://forums.grandstream.com/forums/index.php?topic=37816.0

GSSupport74

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1093
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Skype App Not Working GVC3210
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2018, 11:59:12 PM »
Dear Jppialasse,

Thanks for using Grandstream GVC3210!

For the no video issue, I think it maybe caused by the video resolution. Please adjust the "Video" options to match the configurations on your callee side. This video feature works for us. For the menu displaying, I have reported it to our developers for evaluation.

Thank you!

Kevin Sherwood

  • Beta Club Members
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Skype App Not Working GVC3210
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2018, 01:59:44 AM »
Could the video resolution not auto detect? I'm not sure that most customers would be able to change the video options on a per call basis.
Thanks for passing on the issue with the blank menus.

Thanks.

Kevin Sherwood

  • Beta Club Members
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Skype App Not Working GVC3210
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2018, 08:39:36 AM »
Can you please let me know where to find the "video"options please? I can't seem to locate them.

"For the no video issue, I think it maybe caused by the video resolution. Please adjust the "Video" options to match the configurations on your callee side."


Thank you!

GSSupport74

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1093
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Skype App Not Working GVC3210
« Reply #12 on: January 16, 2018, 12:50:31 AM »
Dear Kevin,

Thanks for your feedback!

Please go to the "Video Settings" for Skype application, the options should be in the Skype application UI. We have tested this application on our GVC3210 and it works fine for us.

If the issue still can be reproduced, please kindly help to capture the logcat on the GVC3210 and send to us. You could go to Maintenance -> Troubleshooting -> Logcat and capture the information and send to us. Thanks for your feedback!

Thank you!

teleco

  • Beta Club Members
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Skype App Not Working GVC3210
« Reply #13 on: Today at 02:21:17 PM »
I also had video issues using the skype app installed via Google Play.

I was on 4K resolution, I changed the GVC3210 to 1080P and rebooted the videoconference. After that, video started working. May be it can help...

Video settings options in the skype config are not visible like the screenshots about the options in this thread, you can see the placement of the options but not the text.