Author Topic: Run SKYPE on gxv3175  (Read 6403 times)

AlexG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Underwear
Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« on: March 25, 2011, 02:50:36 PM »
Hello,
Help me to run Skype on my gxv3175 please.
Thanks,
Alex

WhiteMouse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • http://whitemouse.ru/
Re: Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2011, 03:02:06 AM »
Quote
You can use a gateway.
For example - Skype.sipnet.ru

Unfortunately, the authors do not perform SIP-protocol.

At this HW can't use the letters in the dial number.   :(
« Last Edit: April 13, 2011, 10:47:50 PM by WhiteMouse »
White Mouse Burrow

lincomnt

  • Guest
Re: Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2011, 09:30:06 PM »
For example - Skype.sipnet.ru
It's good idea, but how can I dial Skype contact (I can use digits only)???
PS* Я так понимаю ты тоже из России, да?

WhiteMouse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • http://whitemouse.ru/
Re: Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2011, 10:52:18 PM »
Yes, I just tried to completely remove a dial plan, but it does not help :(

Да, русский язык для меня родной  :)
White Mouse Burrow

valentin_nils

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Hey, whats your uptime ?
    • View Profile
Re: Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2011, 10:56:11 PM »
On GXV3140 I call Skype contacts from my contact list.

Anyway GXV3175 doesnt have Skype yet installed.
How do you do it ?
« Last Edit: April 14, 2011, 01:02:53 AM by valentin_nils »
GXV3140 user ? Feel free to contact me for testing purpose (setup)

WhiteMouse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • http://whitemouse.ru/
Re: Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2011, 11:15:35 PM »
At 3140 you are using a special software client that does not exist in 3175.
But it is not needed if the SIP-protocol operates in full.
For example SIPNET-provider writes - http://www.sipnet.ru/call/skype.html
Sorry, only in Russian  :(
White Mouse Burrow

valentin_nils

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Hey, whats your uptime ?
    • View Profile
Re: Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2011, 01:00:28 AM »
I see. Thats interesting. (I have not seen this before.)

Is my understanding correct:
You are trying the web interface from sipnet (on the GXV31xx browser) to make Skype calls ?
So its basically SaaS (Software as a service) ?
« Last Edit: April 14, 2011, 01:04:38 AM by valentin_nils »
GXV3140 user ? Feel free to contact me for testing purpose (setup)

AlexG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Underwear
Re: Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2011, 01:34:24 AM »
Look like we can dowload one of that http://www.sipnet.ru/orderandpay/software.html
and run it on phone

valentin_nils

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Hey, whats your uptime ?
    • View Profile
Re: Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2011, 03:12:51 AM »
Whitemouse, can you explain how it works. Is this a one time cost or a subscription ?
How much is the cost ?
GXV3140 user ? Feel free to contact me for testing purpose (setup)

WhiteMouse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • http://whitemouse.ru/
Re: Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2011, 03:20:21 AM »
To valentin_nils:
NO. This isn't a web interface, it is - a web gateway, i.e. coordination protocols are "transparent. "
You are not using a browser, you simply specify the recipient number in a special way.
Instead of RFС you can see an overview of the Wiki page
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Session_Initiation_Protocol

To AlexG:
Maybe it's possible. Unfortunately I am not familiar with the platform well enough. :(
My acquaintance with the phone is limited to two evenings. :)
As I understand it, the manufacturer promises to realize just this variant - to establish a separate application for calls Skype.

To valentin_nils:
If we talk about the interaction SIPNET-Skype, then calls in either direction for free.
Fees are charged only for calls to landlines and mobile phones.
http://www.sipnet.ru/orderandpay/tariffs.php
White Mouse Burrow

valentin_nils

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Hey, whats your uptime ?
    • View Profile
Re: Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2011, 03:28:15 AM »
Thanks for the explanation. Looks interesting, but with my russian language knowledge I better stick to the tools I have ;-)
I assume Grandstream will come out with the Skype client in a couple of weeks time and that would be good enough for me.
GXV3140 user ? Feel free to contact me for testing purpose (setup)

WhiteMouse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • http://whitemouse.ru/
Re: Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« Reply #11 on: April 14, 2011, 03:39:50 AM »
I tried to find out the date the appearance of applications - promise to mid-May.
White Mouse Burrow

WhiteMouse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • http://whitemouse.ru/
Re: Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« Reply #12 on: April 14, 2011, 04:05:06 AM »
Checked "Release Notes for F/W 1.0.1.18"
The mention of Skype is not found.

White Mouse Burrow

AlexG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Underwear
Re: Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2012, 11:49:39 PM »
I decide to sell it!!

germish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Run SKYPE on gxv3175
« Reply #14 on: January 25, 2012, 12:28:33 PM »
I assume Grandstream will come out with the Skype client in a couple of weeks time and that would be good enough for me.

How do you come to this assumption. The official responce so far I knew was a categorical NO by Grandstream. Some reason which sounds to me like an excuse.
Supposing that skype has stopped supporting 3 party hardware manufacturers. Well there is the pretty new Aiguru by ASUS, but that runs Android and not Linux like the 3175. The Open source code software is downloadable on the Asus site. After all Android is widely based on Linux anyway.

A possible thought on the questionable lack of 3 party hardware manufacturers could be that Microsoft who bought Skype  last Summer/autumn wants to bring out the hardware to use Skype themselves.